Welcome 2011

Well, I suppose if I have this blog, I should take a quick look back at 2010 and a look ahead.

It was another year of traversing the country.

The year started out in New York, still teaching at Hofstra and enduring cold winters.

Then I made the cross-country trip back home to spend the summer in Fresno.

During the summer I changed my look – shaving off  the beard, and then I headed back across the country to start the fall semester at Hofstra. After a lot of soul-searching, personal needs,  and knowing that the family needed to be back together (and in a warm place), I decided to get back into the news business. That brought us to Houston, TX and a new job as an EP at KRIV TV. We’ve been exploring the city and all the great things it has to offer, including lots of fun places to dine out (like Pappas Burgers):

Those of you who know me know that my theme song could be the Allman Brothers “Ramblin’ Man” –

Lord, I was born a ramblin’ man,
Tryin’ to make a livin’ and doin’ the best I can.
And when it’s time for leavin’,
I hope you’ll understand,
That I was born a ramblin’ man.

My 9-year-old son has lived in 6 different states in his young life. But, I think this Houston move may be a “settling down” move. We love it here – love the neighborhood where we live, love the school the kids go to, love the city, and I am loving my job (maybe I need to change my theme song to Led Zeppelin’s “Whole Lotta Love”).

Some favorite things from 2010:

Favorite New York City experience: Walking across the Brooklyn Bridge.

Favorite class taught at Hofstra:  A Critical Look at the Broadcast Media

Favorite New York Restaurant:  Dovetail (visited during Restaurant Week)

Restaurant Week in Manhattan

It is Restaurant Week in Manhattan. During a slow tourist week, high end restuarants offer 3-course tasting menus for $35. This was my trip to Dovetail on the Upper West Side (with a trip to the South Street Seaport and a walk through Tribeca and SoHo beforehand).

 

Favorite restaurant in Houston:  Taco Milagro in the Montrose area. Why? Fantastic mole negro:

Favorite family event of the year:   Trip to San Fran and a first time visit to Alcatraz.

Achievement of the Year –  Being awarded Hofstra’s School of Communication Teacher of the Year Award (first time a first-year professor ever won it).

And finally – no New Year’s resolutions for this year – but two goals that I want to hit by the time I retire (which, hopefully, will be sometime into the third decade of the 21st Century)

1) To work somewhere overseas for a while

2) To be living in my retirement city by the ocean – either La Jolla or Key West.

Let’s see if we can hit those goals!

Happy 2011.

~ by geoffreysworld on January 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
