Multi- Tasking

Many of you have heard me harping about multi-tasking in the new world of media. I drilled it in to my students at Hofstra, I champion it in my newsroom, and I try to practice it myself.

I’m also a big fan of cheaper, compact equipment that delivers broadcast-quality work and makes it easier for one person to do it all.

I recently put my money where my mouth is, and started producing a series for our station using local Houston bloggers to put together video essays about cool stuff around town.

I produced and shot these with my Canon T2i DSLR, and a Samson wireless mic designed for DSLRs. Total cost for my setup – less than $1,000.

Truth in¬†advertising: I did have one of the editors at the station edit the story – I still don’t have the editing down with the equipment here, but hope to at some point.

We aired the first story last Friday. Click on the link to watch it.

Houston Bloggers: Gourmet FoodTrucks

Let me know what you think.

~ by geoffreysworld on March 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
