Break A Few Eggs

Everyone should be able to make an omelet. Egg cookery is as good a beginning as any, as it’s the first meal of the day, and because the process of learning to make an omelet is, I believe, not just a technique, but a builder of character.

— Anthony Bourdain

I’ve been meaning, for some time now, to share some thoughts about why I like making omelettes so much (and taking pictures of them to post on Facebook).

The funny thing is, I was never much of a breakfast person, at least not a “breakfast at home” person. I always loved getting breakfast on the road, when someone else was making it for me. That led to one of my obsessions, documented a few times, of finding the perfect corned beef hash. But, on any given normal day, breakfast was a cup of coffee.

I can’t remember the exact day it started, but after I got back from my bi-coastal teaching experience, I decided to make breakfast for my kids, and thus was born the smiley-face omelettes.

What I discovered as I started making these more often was that creating them was an incredible way to start the day.

First, as they say, breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It got me to start eating something in the morning, so I wouldn’t overeat later in the day because I was so hungry.

Second, I found it very therapeutic. Cooking for me, in general, is relaxing. Spend some time in the morning chopping up ingredients, whisking eggs in a bowl,  coming up with different combinations to put in the omelette, and creating that smiley-face, and you’ll find you’ve cleared your mind, given yourself some thinking time, and revved yourself up for the day,

Third, the morning omelette is often a great way to use leftovers from the night before. From short ribs to chicken to brisket, I’ve been able to recycle  food in new and fun ways.

Fourth, it creates some great family time with the kids in both making and eating the omelettes.

As far as photographing my creations – hey, even Iron Chef gives points for the artistic aspect of food, the presentation. Food as art. Like my “flying lox” creation above.

So, crack a few eggs, clear your mind, let your creativity flow, and have a great start to the day. Make an omelette!

~ by geoffreysworld on August 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
