A Technological Epiphany

Some people have religious epiphanies. I’ve had a technological one.

Yes, after years of dismissing the “Apple/Mac” craze, I have dived into the deep end.

It started when I began entertaining thoughts of starting a small production company some day, and wanted to develop my editing skills. I’ve been shooting some stories for my station, working with local bloggers to produce stories about the food/arts/community scene in Houston. I’ve been shooting them with my Canon DSLR, and wanted to start editing the stories myself. After listening to the “Macs are the best for video editing” mantra, I took the plunge, and got a MacBook Pro.

So far, I’ve been using the iMovie11 software that came with the computer, and it has been doing a great job for the editing I need to do.

Here’s an example of one of the blogger stories I did recently for our Friday night newscast:

Chocolate Bar from Geoffrey Roth on Vimeo.

And then, I took the next, profound step. After years of avoiding having a smartphone, I went whole hog and got an iPhone 4s. And now I find myself saying, “How did I ever live without this?”. Besides having the world at my fingertips, the implications for using it to enhance my job are incredible. From apps that allow me to scan documents and convert them to pdf files you can email, to the video capabilities and editing you can do right on the phone, it is amazing. Using my phone today with the $5 iMovie for iPhone app, I shot and edited this little video of my kids at the park :

A Day at the Park from Geoffrey Roth on Vimeo.

Just think what you could do if you came upon a spot news story – shoot it, edit it, and email it in to the station!

So – in a nutshell, I’ve become an Apple nut.

~ by geoffreysworld on January 29, 2012.

One Response to “A Technological Epiphany”

  1. Better late than never. 😉 I’ve been a cultist since 1987. Those were some lean and scary years in the mid-90s.

Leave a Reply

 
